The Texas Department of Public Safety collects crash reports submitted by law enforcement officers and reports submitted by drivers. Both are available to the public by following the links provided below. These forms can be submitted for a processing fee through the Texas DPS site:
Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report
This report is completed by a law enforcement officer investigating a traffic crash when apparent damage is $1,000 or more, or when the crash resulted in injury or death.
Driver's Crash Report (Blue Form)
This report is completed by a driver involved in a traffic crash when the crash is not investigated by a law enforcement officer and apparent damage is $1,000 or more or when the crash resulted in injury or death.
Get the Report Online
In order to provide a higher level of customer service by expediting the process of obtaining a motor vehicle crash report, the Brownwood Police Department is providing this online service. This enables citizens and insurance companies to obtain copies of motor vehicle crash reports investigated by the Brownwood Police Department through the convenience of a user-friendly internet site.
The fee for reports provided online or in-person to involved parties is $6.
Get the Report from the Police Department
The Brownwood Police Department is located at 1050 W. Commerce and the Records Unit lobby hours are Monday to Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. We are closed on weekends and holidays. For walk up service we only accept cash or check. If you are needing to pay via credit card, please consider using the online service.